Creating tangible quality

Flagships of the
Kliniken Essen-Mitte

In our eyes quality is not just a word, but the sum of all tangible contact points a clinic has to offer. Patients quality assessments are based on their individual experience. This is why we put quality before quantity. Kiniken Essen-Mitte stands for specialization and concentration and we proudly look back on our achievements as a clinic. These achievements assure our patients wellbeing and are an example for our claim to provide quality not only theoretically but also practically.

Start Slideshow
Hotel standards at the KEM

Sleeping well
is halfway to recovery

Hotelstandards an den KEM

Folkwang, Aalto, Grillo, Ruhrtal: Patients that stay on our private wards feel like they are staying in a modern hotel – and yet they are in a hospital. Our hospital is situated in the midst of the generous park grounds of the Evang. Huyssens Stiftung. Modern and light architecture, spacious baths and service of the highest quality, accompany our patients on their road to recovery. The fact that we were able to increase our rate of private patients by 35 percent shortly after opening, demonstrates the increasing demand for comfort and services in a hospital and confirms that with our modern service range we are paving the way for more luxury during in-patient admissions.

Video
Michelin-level catering

Fresh cuisine
from the region

Verpflegung auf Sterne-Niveau

The fresh preparation of over 700 meals poses an enormous challenge to many a gastronomy business. At the Kliniken Essen-Mitte this endeavour is successfully accomplished on a daily basis: A well-established team in the kitchen makes every effort to ensure that our patients receive selected and tasty meals every day. Sourcing fresh ingredients and foods of a regional origin for meals is particularly important to us.

Video
Quality in nursing care

Healing and helping
hand in hand

Verpflegung

It is the duty of all of our employees to take the patient seriously as a human being with all of their worries, hopes and questions. These interpersonal tasks are experienced particularly intensively in nursing care: Quality in this regard applies at a comprehensive level. Giving the patient personal attention, applying the necessary sensitivity and maintaining the patient’s dignity and personal privacy, are the core challenges, which our team undertakes with the greatest enthusiasm. The excellent nursing training at the KEM is also paying off, which is demonstrated by one of our trainees coming in third place in a national competition. This is a special award for the entire team and not least the reason that our recommendation rate is at 90 percent (patient survey from DRV Knappschaft-Bahnsee).

Video
Latest technology at the KEM

Medicine of tomorrow
for patients of today

Neueste Technologien an den KEM

The core of our medical performance ability lies in the treatment according to standards that are considered modern throughout the world and which our top medical professionals implement on site during day-to-day practice. Modern technology synergistically enhances personal specialist knowledge to increase the positive effect on the treatment success. Our philosophy of a constant investment in worldwide innovations in the field of medical technology, enables us to offer our patients gentle and individual treatment options.

Video
Innovation and humanity, hand in hand

Jointly
for health

Innovation und Menschlichkeit Hand in Hand

As an academic teaching hospital, we are committed to research and teaching to promote the development of modern medical treatment and to contribute to the development of effective diagnostic and treatment standards. Christian values and the responsibility as a health care provider in the region, create an alliance in pursuit of innovation and state-of-the-art medical treatment – the human being is the common element, who is the focus of our activity.

Video
Focus Ranking / Best list

Award-winning
state-of-the-art medicine

Focus-Ranking / Bestenliste

The regular assessment of our medical performance heightens our sense of quality demands. One must follow the national and international top-level standards in order to be able to identify potentials to continuously improve the treatment of our patients. The fact that our medical practitioners regularly feature in the top spots of the “best list” of the renowned magazine ”Focus” is confirmation and simultaneously a commitment for us to continue to develop our high quality standards. We regularly belong to the ten best clinics in the most competitive clinical market in North Rhine-Westphalia, which offers our patients a valuable guide during their selection of a suitable clinic.

Read more
Internationality

Global know-how
for our
region

Internationalität

The international progress in the field of medicine is a measuring unit, which we use as a guide and which we actively promote. Internationally renowned studies and standards originate from our hospitals and we also apply global know-how and techniques from faraway countries for the local treatment of our patients on site. The professional exchange with international specialists and the cooperation with established institutions on the entire globe ensures the future of our treatment and creates additional options for the treatment of our patients.

Video
Academic teaching and training responsibility

Transfer knowledge,
Secure the future

Lehre und Ausbildungsverantwortung

As an academic teaching hospital at the University Duisburg-Essen, we are committed to transferring knowledge and competencies to following generations. We have established a responsible relationship with junior medical staff and take our teaching instruction seriously to secure the quality of the medical care for the future and to encourage young people to enter the medical profession. Our commitment in the promotion of junior staff does not end with the academic training at university but already starts with the training of our nursing and administrative staff.

Video
Research and science

Creating progress
with clinical research

Forschung und Wissenschaft

The regular publication of the results of research and studies form the basis for evidence-based medicine at the Kliniken Essen-Mitte. The consistent research and development, which our medical practitioners have committed themselves to, forms the basis for a continuous increase in the quality of the treatment. To set new trends, to leave beaten tracks and therefore to contribute to the further develop of medicine, can only be achieved with passion and commitment in order to permanently improve the life of the patients.

Video
Specialist centres at the KEM

Focussing as the
key to quality

Spezialisierte Zentren an den KEM

In the course of increasing competition amongst clinics and health care facilities, innovative and specialist concepts are required to be able to raise one’s profile from the inside to the outside. Our demand for quality is based on a highly specialised range of services, which have been able to attain a trans-regional status over time. In our opinion the filling of relevant niche segments and the associated high degree of specialisation, represent a recipe for success for the future.

Video
Integrated oncology

Two worlds, One mission:
Jointly fighting cancer

Integrative Onkologie

The best of both worlds: Our range of competences in oncology is based on a future-oriented strategy in the fight against cancer. In the process, allopathic treatment forms are supplemented by concomitant therapies with natural medicines. A study commissioned by the Robert-Bosch Foundation established that there are only two facilities in the field of integrated oncology that operate at eye in the world – next to to the renowned MD Anderson Cancer Center in the US, this is the Kliniken Essen-Mitte.

Video
Natural medicine

New paths with
old traditions

Naturheilkunde

Naturopathic procedures on a scientific basis: The aim of the Centre of Natural Medicine and Integrated Medicine is to combine best possible treatment approaches from conventional medicine with scientifically evaluated natural medicine. From the start, the Director of this department has been Professor Dr med Gustav J Dobos (MD), who also holds the chair of the foundation for natural medicine of the Alfred Krupp von Bohlen and Halbach Foundation at the University Duisburg-Essen. According to the current result of a survey of policy holders of the AOK, BARMER GEK and Weisse Liste, 91 percent of those surveyed confirm that the overall treatment of the patients at the Centre of Natural Medicine at the Kliniken Essen-Mitte was very positive.

Video

Qualität erfahrbar machen

Die Flagships der
Kliniken Essen-Mitte

Qualität ist mehr als eine Worthülse, sie äußert sich in der Summe aller erfahrbaren Kontaktpunkte mit einer Klinik. Patienten fällen ihr Qualitätsurteil aufgrund individueller Erfahrungen. Wir als Kliniken Essen-Mitte stehen für Spezialisierung und Fokussierung, Qualität steht für uns deutlich vor Quantität. Auf einige Errungenschaften sind wir als Klinik besonders stolz. Diese tragen täglich dazu bei, dass unsere Patienten sich trotz ihres krankheitsbedingten Aufenthalts wohlfühlen und unser Anspruch nicht nur in der Theorie existiert, sondern jeden Tag aufs Neue in der Praxis gelebt wird.

Slideshow starten
Hotelstandards an den KEM

Gut gebettet
ist halb genesen

Hotelstandards an den KEM

Folkwang, Aalto, Grillo, Ruhrtal: Wer sich in unsere Wahlleistungsstationen begibt, fühlt sich wie in einem Hotel – und ist doch im Krankenhaus. Unser Bettenhaus liegt inmitten der Parkanlage der Evang. Huyssens-Stiftung. Moderne Architektur, geräumige Bäder und ein Service höchster Qualität begleiten unsere Patienten auf ihrem Weg zur Genesung. Dass wir bereits kurz nach der Eröffnung die Auslastung an Privatpatienten um 35 Prozent steigern konnten, bestätigt uns, dass wir mit unserem Angebot den Weg zu mehr Annehmlichkeiten bei stationärem Aufenthalt ebnen.

Video
Verpflegung auf Sterne-Niveau

Frische Küche
aus der Region

Verpflegung auf Sterne-Niveau

Die frische Zubereitung von über 700 Mahlzeiten stellt so manchen Gastronomiebetrieb vor enorme Herausforderungen. An den Kliniken Essen-Mitte wird dieser Kraftakt täglich erfolgreich gemeistert: Ein eingespieltes Team arbeitet mit Leidenschaft daran, dass unsere Patienten Tag für Tag leckere Mahlzeiten bekommen. Frische und Regionalität bei der Auswahl an Zutaten und Speisen ist uns dabei besonders wichtig.

Video
QualItät In der Pflege

Heilen und helfen
Hand in Hand

Verpflegung

Den Patienten mit all seinen Sorgen und Hoffnungen ernst zu nehmen, ist Aufgabe aller unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Ganz besonders intensiv werden diese zwischenmenschlichen Aufgaben in der Pflege wahrgenommen: Qualität bedeutet hier die persönliche Zuwendung zum Patienten, das nötige Einfühlungsvermögen sowie die Wahrung von Würde und Privatsphäre unserer Patienten. Dass auch die gute Ausbildung an den KEM Früchte trägt, beweist der dritte Platz eines unserer Pflegeschüler im bundesweiten Wettbewerb – nicht zuletzt der Grund dafür, dass unsere Weiterempfehlungsquote bei 90 Prozent liegt (Patientenbefragung der DRV Knappschaft-Bahn-See).

Video
Neueste Technologien an den KEM

Medizin von Morgen
für Patienten von heute

Neueste Technologien an den KEM

Das Kernstück unserer medizinischen Leistungsfähigkeit ist die Behandlung nach weltweit modernen Standards, die unsere Spitzenmediziner vor Ort implementieren. Die persönliche Fachexpertise wird dabei synergetisch um den Einsatz modernster Technologien ergänzt. Unsere Philosophie der konstanten Investition in weltweite Innovationen auf dem Gebiet der Medizintechnik versetzt uns in die Lage, unseren Patienten schonende und individuelle Behandlungsmöglichkeiten anzubieten.

Video
Innovation und Menschlichkeit Hand in Hand

Gemeinsam
für Gesundheit

Innovation und Menschlichkeit Hand in Hand

Als akademisches Lehrkrankenhaus bekennen wir uns zu Forschung und Lehre, um die Entwicklung von zeitgemäßer medizinischer Behandlung mit voranzutreiben und unseren Beitrag zur Entwicklung von effektiven Diagnostik- und Therapiestandards zu leisten. Christliche Werte und die Verantwortung als Gesundheitsdienstleister in der Region bilden dabei eine Allianz mit dem Streben nach Innovation und modernster medizinischer Behandlung – die gemeinsame Klammer ist dabei der Mensch, den wir in den Mittelpunkt unseres Wirkens stellen.

Video
Focus-Ranking / Bestenliste

Ausgezeichnete
Spitzenmedizin

Focus-Ranking / Bestenliste

Das regelmäßige Messen unserer medizinischen Leistungsfähigkeit schärft unseren Sinn für die Qualitätsansprüche, die wir in unseren Häusern kontinuierlich verankern. Nur wer sich am bundesweiten wie internationalen Spitzenstandard orientiert, erkennt Chancen und Potenziale, um die Behandlung unserer Patienten noch besser zu gestalten. Die regelmäßigen Top-Platzierungen unserer Mediziner in der Bestenliste des „Focus“ sind für uns Bestätigung und Verpflichtung zugleich. Dass wir auch im am härtesten umkämpften Klinikmarkt in NRW regelmäßig zu den zehn besten Kliniken gehören, bietet unseren Patienten eine wertvolle Orientierungshilfe.

Mehr erfahren
Internationalität

Globales Know-how
für unsere
Region

Internationalität

Der internationale Fortschritt der Medizin ist eine Messgröße, an der wir uns orientieren und den wir aktiv mit vorantreiben. International renommierte Studien und Standards entstammen unseren Häusern, ebenso nutzen wir globales Know-how und Techniken aus fernen Ländern für die Anwendung unserer Patienten vor Ort. Der fachliche Austausch mit internationalen Spezialisten und die Kooperation mit etablierten Institutionen auf dem gesamten Globus stellt die Zukunftsfähigkeit unserer Behandlung sicher und schafft zusätzliche Optionen bei der Behandlung unserer Patienten.

Video
Lehre und Ausbildungsverantwortung

Wissen weItergeben,
Zukunft sichern

Lehre und Ausbildungsverantwortung

Als akademisches Lehrkrankenhaus der Universität Duisburg-Essen haben wir uns der Weitergabe von Kompetenzen an nachfolgende Generationen verpflichtet. Wir pflegen einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit medizinischen Nachwuchskräften, um die Qualität der medizinischen Versorgung auch in Zukunft zu sichern und junge Menschen für das Fach der Medizin zu begeistern. Unser Engagement in der Nachwuchsförderung endet nicht in der universitären Lehre, sondern beginnt bei der Ausbildung unserer Pflege- und Verwaltungskräfte.

Video
Forschung und Wissenschaft

Mit klinischer Forschung
den Fortschritt gestalten

Forschung und Wissenschaft

Die regelmäßige Publikation von Forschungsergebnissen und Studien bildet die Basis für eine evidenzbasierte Medizin. Die konsequente Forschung und Entwicklung bildet die Grundlage für eine kontinuierliche Steigerung der Behandlungsqualität. Neue Trends zu setzen, ausgetretene Pfade zu verlassen und damit einen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung der Medizin zu leisten, lässt sich nur durch Engagement erzielen, um das Leben der Patienten nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Video
Spezialisierte Zentren an den KEM

Fokussierung als
Schlüssel zur Qualität

Spezialisierte Zentren an den KEM

Im Zuge steigenden Wettbewerbs unter Kliniken bedarf es innovativer Konzepte, um sein Profil nach innen und außen zu schärfen. Unser Qualitätsanspruch basiert auf einem hoch spezialisierten Leistungsspektrum, das im Laufe der Zeit überregionale Strahlkraft entwickeln konnte. Die Besetzung relevanter Nischensegmente und der damit verbundene hohe Spezialisierungsgrad stellen für uns ein Erfolgskonzept für die Zukunft dar.

Video
Integrative Onkologie

Zwei Welten, eine Mission:
Gemeinsam gegen Krebs.

Integrative Onkologie

Das Beste aus zwei Welten: Unser onkologisches Kompetenzspektrum fußt auf einer zukunftsweisenden Strategie im Kampf gegen den Krebs – die Verbindung von schulmedizinischen Behandlungen und begleitenden naturheilkundlichen Therapien. Eine von der Robert Bosch-Stiftung in Auftrag gegebene Studie hat herausgestellt, dass weltweit nur zwei Einrichtungen im Bereich der Integrativen Onkologie auf Augenhöhe agieren – neben dem renommierten MD Anderson Cancer Center aus den Vereinigten Staaten sind dies die Kliniken Essen-Mitte.

Video
Naturheilkunde

Neue Wege mit
alten Traditionen

Naturheilkunde

Naturheilkundliche Verfahren auf wissenschaftlicher Basis: Ziel der Klinik für Naturheilkunde und Integrative Medizin ist es, Behandlungsansätze aus konventioneller Medizin und wissenschaftlich evaluierter Naturheilkunde zu kombinieren. Direktor der Abteilung ist Professor Dr. med. Gustav J. Dobos, der auch an der Universität Duisburg-Essen den 2004 etablierten Stiftungslehrstuhl für Naturheilkunde innehat. Nach aktuellem Ergebnis einer Versichertenbefragung von AOK, BARMER GEK und Weisse Liste bescheinigen 91 Prozent der Befragten der Klinik für Naturheilkunde einen sehr positiven Gesamtumgang mit ihren Patienten.

Video